Gujarat government grants religious minority status to Jews

Government of Gujarat has permitted religious minority status to Jews living in the state.

Now, Jews living in Gujarat will get religious minority rights envisaged in Constitution of India and various acts and rules of the state government.


Facts for Prelims:

  • Gujarat is third state in India to grant religious minority status to Jews after West Bengal and Maharashtra.
  • The Synagogue Judah Hyam Hall is the only place of worship in Delhi for Jews.
  • Constitution of India has not defined word ‘Minority’ and only refers to ‘Minorities’ but it speaks of those ‘based on religion or language’ and rights of minorities have been spelt out in Constitution in detail.
  • Six religious communities, viz. Muslims, Christians, Sikhs, Buddhists, Zoroastrians (Parsis) and Jains have been notified in Gazette of India as minority communities by Union Government all over India.
  • Article By :

Random Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *